6 Countries with Blue, Yellow, and Red in Their Flags

There are various countries that have these blue, yellow, and red in their flags, including Colombia, Andorra, Romania, and more.

Blue, Yellow, and Red flag

Countries That Have Blue, Yellow, and Red in Their Flags

1. Romania

Countries with Blue, Yellow, and Red in Their Flags

The Romanian flag is one of the oldest flags on this list, dating back to the 19th century. It’s a tricolor flag that consists of three vertical blue, yellow, and red stripes in that order.

Since these colors were first adopted as early as 1834, different versions of this flag emerged and made brief appearances. After World War II, Romania declared itself a socialist state and added a coat of arms to its tricolor.

It’s generally understood that in the Romanian flag, blue signifies the freedom of the open sky, yellow represents justice, and blood red signifies the bond of fraternity.

Related Article: Green, Yellow and Orange Flags: The Rarest Color Combination?

2. Chad

Chad flag

The national flag of Chad is practically identical to that of Romania. It has the three colors vertically in the same order.

It was adopted upon Chad’s independence in 1960. At the time, Romania’s flag had the socialist insignia in their flag and reverted to its original flag in 1989.

The Chadian government requested from the UN that the matter be reviewed in 2004, but the Romanian president promptly shut down the discussion by declaring that these colors belonged to Romania and won’t be changed.

The official interpretation of the Chadian flag colors is hope and the sky for blue, the sun and desert for yellow, and the sacrifice for independence for red.

Related Article: 14 Countries with Red, Yellow, and Green Flags

3. Andorra

Andorra flag

Andorra’s flag also has vertical stripes in the same order as the first two but with an insignia in the middle. It was adopted in 1866 after decades of having only two colors in the flag; yellow and red.

Since the yellow stripe in the middle has the insignia, it’s slightly wider than the other two.

Related Article: 8 Red and Yellow Flags from Around the World

4. Venezuela

venezuala flag

The modern Venezuela flag was only introduced in 2006. It consists of three horizontal stripes with yellow on top, blue in the middle, and red on the bottom. It also has an arch of 8 stars in the middle.

While there have been some changes here and there, this design (not including the stars) dates back to as early as 1811. The order and alignment of the stripes haven’t changed since the beginning.

For Venezuela, the yellow stripe symbolizes the wealth and prosperity of the Venezuelan land, justice, agriculture, and the sun.

Blue represents the Caribbean that surrounds the country and its beaches, while red symbolizes the blood shed fighting for the country’s freedom from the Spanish.

At a time, the interpretation of the flag was used politically to signify the bloody Spanish nation, the golden Venezuelan soil, and the deep blue ocean separating them.

5. Colombia

colombia flag

The Colombian flag has the same horizontal stripes as Venezuela in the same order. However, the yellow stripe covers half the flag while the blue and red each only have 25% of its design.

It was established in 1866, although its roots come from the original Miranda flag design. That means that it dates back to as early as 1800-1810.

As with Venezuela, the yellow in the Colombian flag symbolizes the sun, the Colombian soil, and its wealth, harmony, justice, and agriculture.

Blue represents the Colombian shores and rivers, and red represents the Colombian people’s perseverance and sacrifice.

6. Mongolia

mongolia flag

Mongolia’s national flag is unique compared to others on this list and in general. It has three vertical stripes, the one in the middle is blue, and the two on the outside are red. The yellow is found in the form of the Soyombo symbol.

This design was first adopted in 1845 but included a communist star.

The blue stripe in the Mongolian flag symbolizes the infinite blue sky, suggesting that freedom is core to the Mongolian people. The red, unlike any other on this list, represents eternity.

As for the Soyombo symbol, it has a compounded significance. It has adorned Mongolia’s flag since the early 20th century. Its name is Sanskrit for “self-created,” but the symbol itself has 10 elements, each having its own meaning.


Andorra, Venezuela, Colombia, Romania, and Chad are examples of countries that have blue, yellow, and red in their flags. There are lots of other countries that have the same color combination. This list is by no means comprehensive. However, you’ll find that many of them have very similar backgrounds, such as Ecuador and Andorra.

Skip to content